Vacation Stress

Standard

What it is about vacations? They are supposed to be relaxing. They’re supposed to be stress reducers, as in, “You look stressed. Maybe you need a vacation.” And yet I find myself always feeling more anxiety before and during, relieved to finally get home.

Okay, with one exception. Going to Cancun a couple years ago without children — that was relaxing.

So obviously the children are a big factor. There will not be much relaxing at Lake Powell this weekend because I will be constantly worried about where the kids are and if they are (a) getting hurt or (b) getting into trouble.

But another factor in the stress is getting everything done in time to leave.

Here’s a taste of how crazy the past few days have been.

I ordered a birthday package to get to Arizona in time for my mom’s birthday today (happy birthday, Mom!); yesterday it showed up on my porch. Yes, there was a forehead smack involved and some minor swearing: I’d forgotten to change the shipping address when I processed the order.

Then there’s been  job stress. My students have a report due tomorrow and I needed to finish giving them feedback on all their previous assignments so they’d be able to do the reports. Plus, I needed to put together a lesson plan for last night that would help teach them how to do their reports. Specifically, since they’re required to create a chart or table, I kind of needed to show them how to do that.

So I spent all morning yesterday making sure I knew all the steps myself. I’ve done tables and charts before, but when you have to teach other people how to do something, it’s good to go through the process specifically with teaching in mind.

And — don’t laugh too hard about this — I decided the simplest chart to make on the spur of the moment was the one I’d been wishing to come across in all my cloth diaper research anyway: a comparison of brands and types and prices, etc, that I could see at a glance.

There it is, in all its glory! And maybe by posting it here it’ll be of some use to somebody Googling cloth diapers. Although I should mention that this isn’t a very comprehensive list. I’m not particularly interested in cloth diapers that require separate covers, so this only shows All-in-Ones and pocket diapers of the major brands that offer 30-day trials.

The other thing that took me all morning yesterday was then figuring out how to convert the table from Word into a jpg image. I Googled the question and was not impressed with the results, which including everything from transferring to a PowerPoint slide to pasting the table as some kind of html which would supposedly save somewhere on my computer as a picture file.

Have you ever tried to find a file that you didn’t save yourself and you don’t know the name of? Well, I’m sure some people know exactly how to do this, but I do not.

In the end, the simplest thing was to copy the table, paste it in Paint, click “crop” under the Image tab at the top, and then save it as a jpg. This takes exactly 16.2 seconds (depending on the speed of your hard drive). So there you go. Maybe this post is just for people Googling stuff that I was Googling yesterday and couldn’t find. See how helpful I can be when stressed?

Today has already shaped up to be better. I finished reading and leaving feedback for all of my students just an hour before the internet went down at our house. I’m writing this post in Word, hoping the internet will come back on before we leave so I can publish it. But maybe it’s possible that I can leave today with a little less stress. 

Anybody else hate vacation stress so much that it’s tempting to just stay home . . . always?

Leave a comment!

6 responses »

  1. If you’re the mom, vacations equal stress. Always. Because you have to do all the work to get ready, do all the work while you’re gone, and do all the work when you get home. Just staying home is easier. Unless you leave the kids home, then going on vacation is easier . . . until you get home.

    Cute pic btw. 🙂

    Have fun on your vacation.

    Like

  2. I love that swimsuit! And don’t fret, your pregnant body is SUPER cute!

    Having never been on a REAL vacation since being married I can’t say for certain, but I definitely KNOW that our visits back home have been UBER stressful! We usually go during Justin’s week off and then I don’t even get to see him, because we’re bouncing around so much! It’s insane. Basically I would prefer going to Tucson when he’s working or in school. I’d only miss out on him like 2 hours a day instead of 12. Dumb “vacations” – I’d like to kick ’em where it counts!

    Like

    • Well get this. We launched the boat onto the lake, drove it to the marina to get crushed ice for the water coolers, and discovered the boat had a leak and two bad bearings. So now we’re just sitting at Lake Powell doing nothing! But maybe that will end up being more relaxing! Ha ha. There’s always something that comes up.

      Like

  3. Pingback: What Baseball Fields and Blow-drying Have to Do with Brainstorming « All About the Words

  4. Pingback: The Learning Curve « All About the Words

Leave a Reply

