Six Months, Six Thank Yous, and Six Favorite Posts

Standard

This week is a blogiversary of sorts, marking six months since I started “publishing” my thoughts for the world with no clue who would read them. And even though I haven’t won an Oscar and don’t need to thank the Academy, somehow *sniffle* I still feel the need to thank all the people who have made my blog not feel like a waste.

Thank you, WordPress, for making it all possible. Heaven knows my html skills are primitive, and my CSS skills non-existent, so I couldn’t have done this without you.

Thank you, crocheters everywhere, for that mega-boost in stats the week I posted “How Writing Is Not Like Crocheting (Or What Random Analogies Teach Me About Process).” I know you came for the photo, not the post, but that’s okay. You came by the thousands, and for stats, that’s what counts.

Thank you, tweeps I follow, for all the inspiration. I can’t tell you how many times I was stumped on what to post and a timely tweet showed me the way.

Thank you, fellow bloggers, for interesting discussions on your blogs that have been the models for how I wanted mine to be.

Thank you, authors, for the amazing books I’ve read and written about here. This blog would not be possible without books, and books would not be possible without authors. Give yourselves a huge pat on the back!

And finally, the biggest thank you of all goes to those who visit and those who comment on the blog. I couldn’t do this without you. If no one visited and no one commented, I wouldn’t have made it to the six-month mark. I would have given up much sooner. Thank you for believing in me! *sniffle*

And now, a look back at my six favorite posts:

  1. At the end of September during Banned Books Week, I wrote “Homophones, Nazi Cows, and Other Banned Books Dangers” — the first post where I felt like I was really talking about something important and helping to get the word out.
  2. The three-part series “Movies Explain the World (of Writing)” was tons of fun for me. I have a great time as a teacher using movie clips, and adapting that strategy for blog posts was right up my alley. I surprised myself with how much I had to say and what analogies came out of it.
  3. “Interview with a Comic Creator” was a cool experiment I need to repeat, using the blog as a space to introduce other creative friends and have them describe their artistic processes.
  4. I also liked “10 Writers I’m Thankful For” as a nostalgic-but-useful look at writers who have shaped my view of writing.
  5. “Change the World” felt important again, and I’m always a fan of that. My dad even ended up showing it to his middle school students, which has to make a blogger feel good.
  6. And then most recently, “Women’s Lib, Strong Female Characters, and YA Lit” turned out to be a fantastic post mainly because of the comments. I loved reading the various perspectives that visitors shared, especially a comment from the author whose book I’d mentioned in the post. Yeah, that was a pretty cool day, and I wish every post could be like that.

What are your favorite things about blogging or reading other people’s blogs? Hearing about great books? Discussing ideas? Interacting with other people with similar interests? What makes it worthwhile for you?

Leave a comment!

8 responses »

  1. I’m too tired to really think right now so I’m not going to respond to your question at this moment. But I wanted to say that you when you interject *sniffles* in your statements it reminds me of grandpa.

    Like

  2. So happy to discover you fairly recently. 🙂 And congrats on making it this far. All of those things you mentioned last are the reason I love blogging and being a part of this wonderful literary community.

    Like

Leave a Reply

