Frost-covered Trees and Arabian Deserts

Standard

Our snow hasn’t hit yet, but this morning we woke up with one of those cool fogs that obscures even the neighbors’ houses across the street, completely shrouds the mountains that normally rise behind those houses, and lines the trees in frost. I only wish the pictures did justice to the feel of it.

Lacy-looking trees and foggy backgrounds

The snow in the photos is the super crunchy kind, leftover from more than a week ago. Fresh inches are supposed to hit us tonight through Wednesday.

I don’t have anywhere to go this week — no travel plans, no work (since we get three weeks off between semesters), no last-minute shopping, no obligations — so I guess that leaves me free to just look out the window and apprecite frost crystals and snow storms from the comfort of a couch and a mug of cocoa.

These fishing lines are normally pretty invisible, but the frost made them triple thick

But for anyone who’s feeling under the weather and hating snow, I have a Christmas read recommendation for you that’s a little unusual and definitely does not involve snow.

I read this a couple years ago and loved it. Actually, the Christmas connection surprised me about halfway through the book, so hopefully that’s not a spoiler. But I also didn’t clue in that Ella Enchanted is a retelling of Cinderella until three-quarters through that. Sometimes I’m not the quickest.

Anyhow, Alphabet of Dreams follows the wise men through the desert from the point of view of a fourteen-year-old Persian princess orphaned and disguised as a boy. On top of that, she’s taking care of her younger brother whose dreams have put them in danger. If I’m remembering right.

It gave me a historical perspective on the Christmas story that I adored. Plus the writing is as beautiful and poetic as frost-lined trees.

(This picture on the left is the hardcover jacket. The paperback on the right hints at Christmas a little more with the Star of Bethlehem and all that. Click on the paperback for a larger view.)

What Christmas books would you recommend? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment!

4 responses »

  1. I loved this book! I read it when you did so I remember it probably about as well as you too 🙂
    I’m not sure about books, but I know an awesome movie that I would recommend (although you’ve already seen it, I’ll post it anyway). The Family Stone is fast becoming my very favorite Christmas movie. I watch it probably twice a year- it’s that good.

    Like

  2. I’m a sucker for fairy tales so I’m really digging Catherynne Valente’s Orphan Tales. The first book, In the Night Garden, was a lot of fun, nested stories. This week I’m looking forward to getting into the sequel: In the Cities of Coin and Spice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

