New Post–Coming Soon!

Standard

Um, so this is a post about posting . . . or about blogging . . . or about procrastinating . . . depending on how you look at it.

I was sitting in between writer friends Brodi Ashton and Douglas Cootey at a book event last night, which means that it doesn’t count as eavesdropping since they were talking across me about ways to improve blog traffic. Brodi’s idea about setting specific days for blogging is one that I’ve been thinking about anyway, but her assertion that it was the best thing she’s done for her blog definitely sold me on the idea. Now it’s just a matter of choosing days . . .

I’m leaning toward Tuesday and Friday, just because I teach Mondays and Wednesdays. Anyone have an opinion on that?

Brodi’s other very clever tactic I’m going to keep secret for now, until I’ve decided the best timing for deployment.

But actually I should be planning lessons right now, so this post about posting is just a way of putting off what I should really be doing. Watch for a better post soon! (Friday?)

[UPDATE: In the mean time, maybe I could make this more worthwhile by asking questions. What’s on your to-read stack right now?

It seems like everything I put on hold at the library in the last three months showed up all at once, so I have less than two weeks to read Dreamhunter and Dreamquake by Elizabeth Knox (each 400-ish pages) and then one week left to read The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, plus Silksinger by Laini Taylor, Cybele’s Secret by Juliet Marillier, and many others. Might end up buying a lot of books soon if the library won’t let me keep them long enough.]

2 responses »

  1. Hmmm… This Brodi Chica sounds like a wise cricket. But watch out, because I do hear she has a habit of talking out of her bum.

    As for the “other clever tactic” I can’t wait to find out what it is!

    Okay, so a couple more strategies I was thinking about, some offered by my commenters:
    – commenting on other people’s blogs, on a regular basis
    – Offer to do a guest blog on someone’s popular blog
    – I hear pictures and links, pictures and links, pictures and links, add them.

    As for my to-read pile:
    Maze Runner
    Little Brother
    Once Was Lost
    Candor

    Like

    • Thanks for the extra ideas! I’m still getting the hang of everything.

      And The Maze Runner and Once Was Lost are definitely on my to-read list as well, the moment I finish my library books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

